The SuperLoop Rapid plan calls for up to 26 stations, about half a mile apart. To date, 19 stations have been built. Construction is currently underway on five additional stations and transit signal priority equipment on existing traffic signals in the La Jolla Colony segment. This work will be completed by spring 2018.

An Addendum to the Negative Declaration was approved by the SANDAG Board of Directors on July 25, 2014. The Addendum addresses additional proposed improvements needed to accommodate SuperLoop service route changes implemented by MTS in 2010. 


SuperLoop Rapid has a total budget of $36 million and is funded through the extension of TransNet, the half-cent sales tax approved by voters in November 2004 and administered by SANDAG. SuperLoop Rapid is made possible through partnerships with the Metropolitan Transit System, the City of San Diego, and UC San Diego.
Rapid Intro home