SR 76 Project Improvements

View Map

Servicing the North County inland areas of San Diego County, SR 76 is an east-west highway starting at I-5 on the west and linking to I-15 on the east. It traverses the City of Oceanside, and the unincorporated communities of Bonsall, Fallbrook, Pala, Pauma Valley, Rincon and Lake Henshaw. This project is being constructed in three segments: the West, Middle and East.

The West Segment, between I-5 and Melrose Drive, was completed in 1999. The Middle Segment, between Melrose Drive and South Mission Road, was completed at the end of 2012. 

East Segment

The SR 76 East Segment is located between South Mission Road and I-15. Phase 1 construction on the SR 76/I-15 interchange began in October 2012 and was completed in summer 2013. Phase 2 construction to widen and realign the roadway began in November 2014 and is anticipated to take about three years, finishing in summer 2017. 

Once completed, the new four-lane highway will be a key transportation asset to help meet future travel demand.

View Map

SR 76 project video

View Newsletter View Newsletter